Stop dreaming

2016-08-23_0007.jpgAt the tail end of 2014, I would have been living on my own for just over a year. It was a very tense and stressful time of my life. So much change had happened and I was officially an adult, paying rent and managing my own life. I was struggling to get my business going and slowly burying myself with things to do. There was a constant worry at the back of my mind. What if I get stuck working this job for the rest of my life? What if I can’t afford to ever own a home? What if I get sick one day and can’t afford to do all the things I’ve ever wanted to do in my life?

Like many others, I worked and constantly worried about the end. I was so busy worrying about what my life was going to be like when I got older, that I stopped having fun.

In October of 2014, I booked a volunteer trip to the Amazon. It was the craziest decision I’d ever made in such a short period of time. I’d always wanted to do something like this but never really put the plan to action or thought that I would even have the opportunity to. Then opportunity crossed my path.

While I have travelled to many places in the world, I hadn’t been anywhere on my own which is why I didn’t invite anyone to come with me. Pushing myself out of my comfort zone forced me to be vocal, it forced me to think and to be brave. What I got out of it? An experience of a lifetime, 28 new friends and moments that I will never ever forget.

Since then, I have had some ups and downs. Volunteering in a place that is much much different than home put me in a tough position. Coming back to a different society was very difficult. I wanted so badly to change the way I was doing things right away. I wanted everyone else around me to understand what I had seen and experienced, even though they weren’t there with me. I wanted to get rid of all my things and only keep what I needed to live. It took a few months for me to come to terms with the fact that I am living in a different place and that I should be very grateful for what I have – rather than getting upset that others don’t have the same. The more I thought about it, the more I thought, well the people of the Amazon probably don’t envy the amount of stress I have on a daily basis. They seemed far happier than I am living the lives they do down in the rainforest!

Because of this risk I took, I have learned so much about myself and others around me and about life really. When you take a step back from the day job, worrying about bills and about getting as much done as possible in a day, life is pretty simple.

While I still have had many stressful days since my trip (who doesn’t?), I am constantly reminded about why I do what I do every day. So get out there. Do something you’ve kinda sort of always wanted to do and take it out of the back burner. Forget what everyone else has old you about it and start planning (of course plan wisely!!!). Happy dream fulfilling!

Shot with Fuji x20

Leave a Reply

